A forward-looking shortlist — reviewed 14 August 2026

Best Prop Firms 2027: How to Choose Ahead of the Shift

A 2027 ranking is a prediction, so we do not present it as fact. This page covers where our shortlisted firms stand today, which terms are most likely to move before 2027, and the criteria we will use to re-rank them. Prices, rules, account sizes and firm status change — always confirm current terms on the firm's own site before you pay.

Want the established, current-year ranking instead? See our 2026 rankings
8 firms on our current shortlistLast reviewed 14 August 2026Forecast, not fact — methodology published

What a 2027 ranking can and cannot tell you

Want today's established ranking?

If you are choosing a firm to buy from this month, the current-state ranking is the right page. It covers the same shortlist as it stands today rather than how it may shift.

Visit bestpropfirms2026.com

What this page adds

This page is about the shift, not the snapshot: which terms are most likely to move, what to re-check before you commit, and the criteria we will apply when we re-rank. It is a forecast, reviewed 14 August 2026, and it is explicitly not a claim about 2027 pricing, rules or firm status.

Our ranking methodology and update policy

Published in full so you can judge the ranking rather than take it on trust.

We do not score firms on numbers we cannot verify. There is no points total, no star rating and no single “#1” here. Instead we place firms into “best for” categories using six qualitative factors, each assessed against what the firm currently publishes on its own site:

Operating history
how long the programme has run under its current name and entity
Rule stability
how often published targets, drawdown and payout terms are revised
Disclosure quality
how clearly the firm states its terms, entity and risk language
Segment fit
which trading style the programme is actually built for
Platform and market coverage
what the firm currently supports, as stated by the firm
Trader-reported experience
recurring themes in public feedback, treated as signal, not score

Update policy: this page is reviewed quarterly and after any material change a shortlisted firm announces. The review date at the top of the page is the date the shortlist and the wording below it were last checked. Current review date: 14 August 2026.

What we will not publish: 2027 pricing, discounts, profit splits, drawdown values, account sizes, payout timings or firm status stated as already known. Where a figure is not verified on the firm's current site, this page says “Not specified” instead of estimating it.

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you purchase through one of these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Our recommendations are based on the factors explained on each page.

Category picks for 2027, not a single #1

“Best” depends on what you trade and which rules you can live with. Each pick below states which category it is for and which terms you should re-check yourself, because they change.

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you purchase through one of these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Our recommendations are based on the factors explained on each page.

The5ers logo

The5ers

Forex and CFDs

Best for a long operating history

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: forex/CFDs, plus futures programs
  • Operating since 2016
  • Scaling to $500K–$4M depending on program
  • No evaluation time limit

Where it stands now: One of the longer-running forex programmes on this shortlist. Current programme types, targets and payout terms: see the firm's own plan page.

Watch as terms change: Established firms tend to change terms less abruptly, but scaling schedules and consistency rules are still revised. Confirm the scaling terms attached to the specific plan you buy.

Alpha Futures logo

Alpha Futures

Futures

Best for futures-focused traders

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: futures
  • Platforms: ProjectX, Quantower
  • Fee cap up to $15,000 per request on Standard/Advanced
  • End-of-day trailing max loss

Where it stands now: Futures-oriented evaluation programme. Drawdown type, daily loss limits and payout thresholds: check the current rules page before purchase.

Watch as terms change: Futures programmes revise drawdown models and payout thresholds frequently. The drawdown type (static vs trailing) is the single term most worth re-checking.

FundingPips logo

FundingPips

Forex and CFDs

Best for mainstream forex evaluations

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: forex, metals, indices, energies, crypto
  • Platforms: MT5 and others (verify current list)
  • Account sizes: $5K–$200K
  • Multiple evaluation models
  • Profit split reported around 80%, scaling toward 100%

Where it stands now: Positions itself in the mainstream forex/CFD evaluation segment. Pricing, profit split, drawdown model and account sizes: check the firm's current plan page — we do not restate figures that change.

Watch as terms change: Evaluation pricing and drawdown rules in this segment move often. Re-read the rulebook on the checkout page, not a review page, before you pay.

ThinkCapital logo

ThinkCapital

Forex and CFDs

Best for corporate-backing weighting

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: forex/CFDs
  • News trading prohibited by default; add-on available
  • Minimum 3+ profitable days required for funded payouts

Where it stands now: Forex/CFD funding programme with a broker-linked model. Any regulatory registrations should be confirmed on the firm's own legal pages and the relevant regulator's public register — we do not restate them.

Watch as terms change: If prop-firm-specific guidance arrives in any major jurisdiction, corporate structure and disclosure language are where it will show up first.

City Traders Imperium logo

City Traders Imperium

Forex and CFDs

Best for longer-hold styles

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: forex
  • Platforms: MT5, MatchTrader
  • 1-Step has no daily loss limit; 5% trailing drawdown
  • Instant funding options available

Where it stands now: Forex/CFD programme aimed at traders who hold positions longer. Time limits, overnight and weekend holding rules: verify on the current rules page.

Watch as terms change: Holding-period and weekend rules are the terms most likely to change for swing-style accounts. Re-read them each time you buy a new account.

Top One Futures logo

Top One Futures

Futures

Best for newer futures programmes

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: futures
  • Platforms: Tradovate, NinjaTrader (verify current list)
  • 90% profit split
  • Fast payouts — under 24 hours claimed by the firm

Where it stands now: Futures evaluation provider. Plan tiers, consistency requirements and payout schedule: Not specified here — read the live plan page.

Watch as terms change: Newer programmes iterate on rules quickly. Check whether consistency rules apply to the funded stage as well as the evaluation.

Trading futures rather than forex?

Futures and forex programmes differ most in drawdown model and payout thresholds — the two terms most likely to be revised before 2027. Start with the futures-focused programmes on our shortlist and read their current rules pages side by side.

Categories are assigned using the published methodology above. The full shortlist is 8 firms; only firms matching a stated category appear here.

The full shortlist, side by side

Only fields we can state without guessing appear here. Anything we have not verified reads “Not specified” rather than an estimate. Checked 14 August 2026. Firm details below describe the current state as verified on 20 August 2026 — they are not a statement of what these firms will offer in 2027, and terms change.

FundingPips logo

FundingPips

Forex and CFDs

Suited to:
Traders comparing mainstream forex evaluation programmes
Currently offers:
Markets: forex, metals, indices, energies, crypto; Platforms: MT5 and others (verify current list); Account sizes: $5K–$200K; Multiple evaluation models; Profit split reported around 80%, scaling toward 100%
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
Create an Account
The5ers logo

The5ers

Forex and CFDs

Suited to:
Traders who want a long-established forex programme
Currently offers:
Markets: forex/CFDs, plus futures programs; Operating since 2016; Scaling to $500K–$4M depending on program; No evaluation time limit
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
Visit The5ers
Alpha Capital logo

Alpha Capital

Forex and CFDs

Suited to:
Traders comparing UK-based forex programmes
Currently offers:
Markets: forex, metals, indices, oil; Platforms: cTrader, MT5, DX Trade, TradeLocker; 1-step, 2-step and 3-step plans; 80% profit split, 90% available as an add-on
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
Create an Account
Alpha Futures logo

Alpha Futures

Futures

Suited to:
Futures traders comparing evaluation accounts
Currently offers:
Markets: futures; Platforms: ProjectX, Quantower; Fee cap up to $15,000 per request on Standard/Advanced; End-of-day trailing max loss
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
Start Registration
Top One Futures logo

Top One Futures

Futures

Suited to:
Futures traders looking at newer-generation programmes
Currently offers:
Markets: futures; Platforms: Tradovate, NinjaTrader (verify current list); 90% profit split; Fast payouts — under 24 hours claimed by the firm
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
Explore Top One Futures
ThinkCapital logo

ThinkCapital

Forex and CFDs

Suited to:
Traders who weight the firm's corporate backing heavily
Currently offers:
Markets: forex/CFDs; News trading prohibited by default; add-on available; Minimum 3+ profitable days required for funded payouts
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
See Current Pricing
City Traders Imperium logo

City Traders Imperium

Forex and CFDs

Suited to:
Swing and longer-hold traders comparing rule sets
Currently offers:
Markets: forex; Platforms: MT5, MatchTrader; 1-Step has no daily loss limit; 5% trailing drawdown; Instant funding options available
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
Create an Account
Maven logo

Maven

Forex and CFDs

Suited to:
Traders comparing smaller, rule-focused programmes
Currently offers:
Markets: forex (primary), metals, indices; Multiple models, including Instant; 80% profit split; Expert Advisors (EAs) prohibited
Pricing:
Not specified — verify on the firm's site
Explore Maven

Methodology note: the shortlist and its ordering follow the published criteria above. Firms are listed by category grouping, not by payout or commission.

What is actually changing on the way to 2027

Directions of travel we can observe today — deliberately without dates, forecasts or figures we cannot verify.

Regulatory attention is increasing — timing is not knowable

Prop firms have drawn growing attention from financial regulators in several jurisdictions. We are not going to tell you which regulator acts, or when, because nobody credibly can. What matters for your decision is how a firm behaves in the meantime: whether it names its operating entity clearly, states plainly whether trading is simulated or live, and publishes terms that do not contradict its marketing. Those are things you can check today.

The field is consolidating, and that changes what a shortlist is worth

Firms open and close in this industry, and a ranking written a year ahead can name a firm that is no longer trading by the time you read it. We do not publish a projected count of surviving firms. Instead we treat operating history and rule stability as ranking factors, and we re-check the shortlist quarterly so a name that disappears does not stay on this page.

Automation is reshaping the funded-account experience

Automated risk monitoring, dashboard analytics and faster payout processing are areas firms increasingly compete on. Whether any given firm on this shortlist offers a specific automated feature is Not specified here — check its platform pages. The useful question for 2027 is not who has AI, but whether the firm's risk tooling makes its own rules easier or harder for you to follow in real time.

Entry pricing moves, and cheap entry is not the same as cheap overall

Evaluation pricing in this segment changes frequently, which is exactly why this page carries no 2027 prices. When you compare cost, compare the whole path: evaluation fee, any reset or retry cost, and what happens to your fee if you pass. A programme that looks inexpensive at signup can be more costly across three attempts than one that is not.

Market coverage keeps widening

Programmes continue to add instruments and asset classes. Which markets a shortlisted firm supports is listed on its card above as the firm currently states it — anything beyond that is Not specified until we can verify it. If you need a specific instrument, confirm it on the firm's own instrument list before purchase, not from any comparison page including this one.

Weighting stability and disclosure most heavily?

If rule stability and clear corporate disclosure are what you care about going into 2027, start with the two shortlist firms we place in that category and read their terms pages before their marketing pages.

How to choose as terms change

The durable skill is not picking this year's winner — it is reading a rule set quickly and knowing which clauses matter for how you trade.

Static vs trailing drawdown

A static drawdown is a fixed floor set from your starting balance. A trailing drawdown follows your equity or closed balance upward, so profitable days move the level you must stay above. Trailing models punish giving back open profit, which matters most to scalpers and to anyone who lets winners run and then partially retraces. Neither is 'better' — but a rule set that fights your style will fail you regardless of edge.

Daily loss limits are a schedule problem, not just a risk problem

A daily loss limit interacts with when your reset happens and which timezone it uses. If your session straddles the reset, one bad run can consume two days' allowance. Read the reset time, not just the percentage.

Consistency and time rules decide whether you can actually pass

Consistency rules cap how much of your total profit any single day may represent. Time rules set minimum trading days or maximum durations. Both can invalidate a technically profitable account. Check whether they apply only during evaluation or also on the funded account — that distinction changes the programme entirely.

Evaluation vs instant funding is a cost-shape choice

Evaluation programmes charge less upfront and test you first. Instant-funding programmes charge more upfront and skip the test. Neither shortcut removes the rules — instant funding usually applies tighter drawdown from day one. Total cost across likely attempts is the number that matters.

Payout terms are where the surprises live

Look for the first eligible payout point, the minimum amount, the frequency thereafter, and any condition attached to the first withdrawal. This is the section most likely to change between now and 2027, and the section least likely to be summarised accurately anywhere but the firm's own terms.

Common mistakes ahead of a rule change

Buying a large account before proving the rule set on a small one. Assuming last year's terms still apply. Treating a comparison page — including this one — as the authoritative rulebook. Re-reading marketing pages instead of terms pages. Every one of these is avoidable in ten minutes.

Looking for a drawdown model that fits your style?

Drawdown type is the clause most worth checking before you buy. Open the current rules pages for a futures-focused and a forex-focused programme from our shortlist and compare their drawdown sections directly.

2027 prop firm forecast — FAQ

Choose on the rules, not on the year

Whatever 2027 brings, the process is the same: pick the category that matches how you trade, read that firm's current rules page in full, and confirm the terms at checkout. Two starting points from our shortlist are below. Reviewed 14 August 2026.

The5ers logo

The5ers

Forex and CFDs

Best for a long operating history

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: forex/CFDs, plus futures programs
  • Operating since 2016
  • Scaling to $500K–$4M depending on program
  • No evaluation time limit

Where it stands now: One of the longer-running forex programmes on this shortlist. Current programme types, targets and payout terms: see the firm's own plan page.

Watch as terms change: Established firms tend to change terms less abruptly, but scaling schedules and consistency rules are still revised. Confirm the scaling terms attached to the specific plan you buy.

Alpha Futures logo

Alpha Futures

Futures

Best for futures-focused traders

Currently offers (verified 20 August 2026, not a 2027 projection)

  • Markets: futures
  • Platforms: ProjectX, Quantower
  • Fee cap up to $15,000 per request on Standard/Advanced
  • End-of-day trailing max loss

Where it stands now: Futures-oriented evaluation programme. Drawdown type, daily loss limits and payout thresholds: check the current rules page before purchase.

Watch as terms change: Futures programmes revise drawdown models and payout thresholds frequently. The drawdown type (static vs trailing) is the single term most worth re-checking.

Buying this month rather than planning ahead? See the current-state 2026 rankings

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you purchase through one of these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Our recommendations are based on the factors explained on each page.

Last reviewed 14 August 2026